What to Do If You are Unable to Work After a Workplace Accident

Posted by Lowe Eklund Wakefield Co., LPA on Jul 7, 2018 1:30:32 PM

Any type of personal injury can leave you unable to work either temporarily or permanently.  When your injury occurs during the course of your employment, you may be entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits.  These benefits include compensation for lost wages incurred because of your injury, condition, or illness.If you're unable to work because of an employment injury, you need to speak to an attorney.

If you or your family member suffered an on-the-job injury, time is ticking.  Obtaining the benefits to which you are entitled can be complicated, and filing a claim must be completed according to the rules and regulations set by Ohio law.  Lowe Eklund Wakefield Co., LPA’s workers compensation lawyers are available now to help you, regardless of where you are in the claim process.

  • Considering Filing a Claim
  • Unsure About Filing Process
  • Have Recently Received a Claim Denial

Steps to Take Following a Workplace Accident

Seek Treatment

The first step following a workplace accident is to receive the medical treatment that you need immediately.  Personal health and safety always comes first.  If an accident creates an emergency, your first job is to seek the emergency care required to treat your injuries. 

If a workplace injury occurs over time or due to prolonged chemical exposure, treatment will still be your first step.  Always seek treatment first.

Communicate

The next step to take is to alert your employer as soon as possible about your injury.  In some circumstances, you may believe that the accident itself would likely be known to the employer.  Do not assume anything.  Communicate to your employer directly or through a trusted individual the date, time, and circumstances relating to the injury.  Full impact/prognosis is not necessary, but the incident or accident itself should be reported as soon as possible.

Also communicate to your physician that your injuries occurred at work.  Physicians may file workers’ compensation claims in Ohio, but they must do so within 24 hours.  Do not worry about whether your physician does this.  You have the ability to file a claim outside of that 24-hour period, and that is far more commonly preferred as the filing method.

File a Claim

Individuals, their physician, or their employer may all file a workers’ compensation claim with Ohio’s Bureau of Workers’ Compensation.  If an employer is self-insured, the employee will need to file a claim directly with the employer.

Filing a claim and receiving benefits that cover wage loss requires properly documenting and demonstrating eligibility for benefits.  Following an injury, this can be exhausting if not extremely difficult.  Further, understanding what is necessary to maximize your benefits is beyond the understanding of most workers outside of a few professions.

Hire an Attorney

Having an experienced workers’ compensation benefits attorney represent you is recommended following a workplace injury.  Your attorney can file your claim on your behalf, making sure to identify, analyze, and document all necessary records and information needed for a successful claim.  In the event of a claim denial, an attorney can prepare your case to counter any objections and help you obtain the benefits you need.

Lowe Eklund Wakefield Co., LPA – Ohio Workers’ Compensation Benefits Lawyers

If you are considering filing a workers’ compensation claim, we are here to help.  Call or email now to schedule your free consultation.

Beyond Workers' Compensation Insurance Free Guide

Topics: Workers' compensation